Review for „Pits & Poison“ by R. Raeta

Anmerkung: Diese Rezension ist auf Englisch, da ich das Buch ursprünglich auf Englisch erhalten habe. Meine anderen Rezensionen findest du hier.


First of all, I would like to say thank you for the review copy, which was provided to me by the author. This fact does not in any way affect my personal opinion of this book. This post contains advertising and the rights for the book belong to the publisher.

This is a review of the second book in the Peaches and Honey Duology. Beware of spoilers for book one!

General information

  • Title: Pits & Poison – These Godly Lies
  • Author: R. Raeta
  • Series: The Peaches and Honey Duology (Book 2 of 2)
  • Publisher: Self-published
  • Format: Ebook (ARC)
  • Pages: 320
  • Release date: 06. June 2024
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Price: 4,99€ [Ebook]

Synopsis 

An immortal love,

a tyrannical god thirsting for power,

and the divine tree that binds them all.

California 1955: After spending eight centuries witnessing the world’s cruelty, Anna has finally found peace in the simple life she’s made for herself. She has her garden and hives to nurture and Khiran, the shapeshifting god who gifted her immortality, to love and to hold. It is, she knows, too good to last.

When her existence is discovered, Anna and Khiran are forced to go into hiding or face the wrath of the reigning god they call The First. Staying together means sacrifices must be made…but they aren’t the only immortals who wish to see The First fall, or the only ones with everything to lose.

One thing is for certain: fear is for them all.

My opinion

Of course, this is only my personal opinion of the book and just because I give this rating to the book doesn’t mean, that everyone will have that opinion.

I had the honour to review both titles in this heart-wrenching duology.
I am so happy that I found R. Raetas’s book and I think more people should know about it.
This duology has such an interesting and unique plot. The writing style is very poetic.
I can’t say much about the plot without giving spoilers, but I loved the way the story went. The hardships and the raw relationship between Anna and Khiran were beautiful to read, and it was nice to learn about the others.
The ending was a fantastic choice.

As I said in my first review, I think you should check this book out if you like books with dreamy writing styles (Laini Taylor) and the plot idea of immortals that fall in love over time and fight for it.

Sadly the spark for more than four stars was missing for me. I can’t put my finger on it, but I am confident, that I will read the next book that this author writes.

Conclusion 

What a good conclusion to this poetic duology!

My rating is: 

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

See you later, 

Paula Josina

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Erstelle eine Website oder ein Blog auf WordPress.com

Nach oben ↑

Erstelle eine Website wie diese mit WordPress.com
Jetzt starten